You are here : Home > Hale County Courts > JP 1 Court > Criminal > Traffic > Dismissal for driving safety course with child safety seat instruction

Dismissal for Driving Safety Course with Child Safety Seat Instruction

Instructions for Requesting a Specialized Driving Safety Course Dismissal
Court Costs for Specialized Driving Safety Course
Taking the Specialized Driving Safety Course
Members of the United States Military
Requesting Your Driving Record
Completing the Course and Dismissal
Failure to Comply

 

If you are charged with transporting a child who was not secured in a child passenger safety seat system or who was not secured by a safety belt, you may complete a specialized driving safety course for instruction in the proper use of child passenger safety seat systems.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
You are not qualified to request a specialized driving safety course dismissal
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
· if you hold a commercial driver's license
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
· for offenses committed in a construction and maintenance work zone while workers were present.

[top]

Instructions for Requesting a Specialized Driving Safety Course Dismissalhttp://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space

On or before the appearance date on your ticket, you must:
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(i) enter a plea of guilty or no contest;
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(ii) waive a trial by jury;
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(iii) submit a Specialized Driving Safety Course Request Form;
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(iv) hold a valid Texas driver's license, or be a member, or the spouse or dependent child of a member, of the United States military forces serving on active duty; and
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(v) provide proof of automobile liability insurance or other proof of financial responsibility as required by Chapter 601 of the Texas Transportation Code.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
You may take a Specialized Driving Safety Course that encourages the use of child passenger safety seat systems even if you are taking the a driving safety course at the time of this request, or if you have completed a driving safety course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense, if those courses did not include instruction encouraging the use of child passenger safety seat systems.http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space

[top]

Court Costs for Specialized Driving Safety Course

Pay court costs and fees in the amount of $110.00

[top]

Taking the Specialized Driving Safety Course

http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.spaceWhen you have qualified and have paid the court costs, the court will assess a fine but will defer the imposition of the judgment for 90 days to allow you to successfully complete the specialized driving safety course.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
Do not take the course until you receive an Order from the court allowing you to do so.

[top]

Members of the United States Military

If you do not have a valid Texas driver's license but you are a member, or the spouse or dependent child of a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty, you must submit an affidavit stating that you were not taking a course in another state on the date the request to take the course was made, and that you have not completed such a course within the 12 months preceding the date of the course.

[top]

Requesting Your Driving Record

http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
You may order your driving record through Texas Online at http://www.state.tx.us. You may also order your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety by sending an Application for Copy of Driver Record (DR-1) to:
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
Driver Records Bureau
Texas Department of Public Safety
Box 149246, Austin, TX, 78714-9246

[top]

Completing the Course and Dismissal

http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
If you are allowed to take a specialized driving safety course, you have 90 days within which to complete the course and present to the court:
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(1) a uniform certificate of specialized driving safety course completion;
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(2) your driving record as maintained by the Department of Public Safety to show that no specialized driving safety course was completed within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense; and
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
(3) an Affidavit stating that you were not taking a specialized driving safety course under Article 45.0511, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, on the date the request to take the course was made, and that you had not completed such a course that is not shown on your driving record within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense;
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
or
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
if you are a member, or the spouse or a dependent child of a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty who does not have a valid Texas driver's license, a Military Affidavit stating that you were not taking a specialized driving safety course in another state on the date the request to take the course was made and had not completed such a course within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
In some instances, you may be required to pay a fee not to exceed the maximum fine for the offense.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
If you successfully complete the specialized driving safety course as required, the charge against you will be dismissed.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
*You may avoid an appearance in court by submitting the required documentation to the court, either in person or by mail, at any time before the date you are required to appear. If you are submitting your proof of completion and affidavit by mail, it is recommended that you keep copies of these documents.

[top]

Failure to Comply

http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
If you fail to comply with the requirements for a specialized driving safety course dismissal, the court will notify you by mail, at your address on file with the court or at the address that appears on the citation, of a time and place to appear to show cause why the evidence was not timely submitted to the court. Failure to appear as required in the notice, or failure to show good cause, will result in the imposition of judgment requiring you to pay the fine immediately.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
The court may, for good cause, extend the time during which you shall present a uniform certificate of course completion.
http://www.jp.hctx.net/Images/white.space
Failure to appear at this show cause hearing shall constitute an offense punishable by a maximum fine in the amount of $200.00.

[top]